Flyy Girl Friday Feature: Candice VanWye

When I first got into blogging, I was basically figuring it all out as I went along. The more I begin to understand how the virtual world of writing flows, the more I begin to happen upon other bloggers who have been influential in paving the way for beginner and season bloggers.

Brown Girl Bloggers is a community for women of color to connect and exchange their successes and their not so successful moments in blogging.

The woman behind this awesome community, just happens to be our

Flyy Girl Feature!

I am super excited to introduce to some and present to others,

Ms. Candice VanWye

Hi, please introduce yourself to the readers:CandiceV1

Candice VanWye, San Diego, CA
Tell us about your blog site:
I’m the founder and editor of BrownGirlBloggers.com which was created to promote, encourage and connect minority women who blog. I also blog about my life and entrepreneurship on my self titled blog CandiceVanWye.com and I’m editor of a lifestyle blog BeautyCoatedLife.com.
Why did you begin blogging?
I originally started blogging on my personal blog to share my journey as an entrepreneur. I started Brown Girl Bloggers because I found it hard to connect with other minority women bloggers. I was meeting a ton of bloggers but I didn’t have a lot in common with them. I wanted to connect with women like myself and I also wanted to build a community since it seems that Brown Girls are rarely applauded in the blogosphere. I wanted to create a space where we would be featured and promoted. 
BGB Front Page
What motivates you to dedicate time to blogging?
At first my motivation was purely internal. I set goals and I worked towards them because I wanted to see success. Now that people are noticing me, my motivation comes from my community. I’m always motivated by women who say my blogs help them and those who ask for my advice. I love it when I see women making real connections because of something I built. 
In one year, what do you hope manifests from your blogging?
In one year I hope to be hosting live events, I hope to be planning the first Brown Girl Blogger’s Conference, I hope to have an e-course to help bloggers and business owners on their journey and I hope to have some type of mentorship program in place for college students. Additionally, I hope that my blog creates amazing relationships between women. 
CandiceV2
Name two of your favorite bloggers you follow.
Two of my favorite bloggers are Drea of thedreadaily.com and Tyece of twentiesunscripted.com They both write so well and I can usually relate to their blog posts. 
What legacy do you want to leave behind for others to know about you?
I hope I’m seen as a very smart and resourceful woman. Someone who is kind and thinks of others. I of course want to see Brown Girl Bloggers grow as much as it possibly can. I hope I help Brown Girls stay inspired and that they get more blogging opportunities because of me. 
Twitter @CandiceVanWye | Instagram: @CandiceVanWye

Twitter: @browngirlblogs | Instagram: @browngirlblogs.
One comment

Leave a Reply

