Flyy Girl Friday Feature: Courtney Cook

Welcome back to the latest edition of Flyy Girl Friday!

To kick off Women’s History Month, today’s feature is all about the lifestyle we lead.

With so many things we want to accomplish and the things that have to be done,

life can take control of you before you are able to get a grip on it!

Courtney Cook is the blogger for you! From travel to professional development, wellness and spirituality,

Binding Balance has you covered.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

                                                                          Courtney Cook.CourtneyCook1

Please introduce yourself to the readers:

Hi! My name is Courtney. I was born in Baltimore, MD and was raised in Northern Maryland. I currently reside in the Washington, DC area.

Tell us about your blog, Binding Balance:

My blog, Binding Balance at bindingbalance.com, is a lifestyle blog covering posts on travel, beauty, style, professional development, recipes, faith, and more. The tagline, “Pulling together different parts, since life’s a balancing act,” emphasizes the importance of having balance in life. I believe we all have so many areas we give attention to. Although some areas might be more important than others, they all have value to me. For instance, my career is significant to me, but at the same time, traveling and enjoying life also has value while I am young and able.

Why did you begin blogging?

I launched my blog on November 1, 2014 as a way for me to express my ideas, suggestions, or thoughts on general topics. I have always enjoyed writing, therefore blogging is an outlet for me to exercise those skills. I also wanted a web space to call my very own, where I have control over the content and image. For a while I thought, there are so many bloggers out there, how would mine be different? But the mere fact that there is only one me with my own personal experiences and perspectives, as there is only one you, encouraged me to create my blog.

What motivates you to dedicate time to blogging?

I honestly just enjoy blogging; it has become a positive and productive hobby. I believe blogging is more than just writing, but also building a brand and represents a part of the individual. This motivates me to dedicate more time, to ensure it’s the best possible representation of me.

CourtneyCook2

In one year, what do you hope manifests from your blogging?

In one year, I hope to network more with fellow bloggers and continue to build an audience. But it isn’t about the numbers to me, if I inspire just one person through a post or encourage someone else who is considering starting a blog, it’s worth it. I also want my blog to always provide something for readers to walk away with; this is why most of my posts will be more generic rather than personal.

Who are two of your favorite bloggers you follow?

There are several bloggers I follow, but one of my favorites is Marlena at simplymarlena.com. She is also a beauty YouTube Vlogger. She has gorgeous, creative makeup ideas and seems to be a very positive person. It was also inspiring to see her recently launch her own business, MakeUp Geek Cosmetics. I also follow Shawnda, BronzeGoddess01, who is also a Youtube Vlogger. She has great videos covering motivational and dating advice. Her videos are very personable as well; you can count on her to always keep it real with the advice! It was inspiring to see her become an author with the launch of her book.

What legacy do you want to leave behind for others to know about you?CourtneyCook3

I want to remain honest at all times with my posts. As a twenty-something, I do not have life all figured out, no one does, but as long as you’re heading in the right direction, appreciating your blessings, and pressing forward, that’s what matters most. Overall, I want to fully embrace having balance in life, while enjoying my present and planning for the future.

Leave a Reply

