Flyy Girl Friday Feature: Delfine The Coco Gawdess

Fashion and beauty are probably the two most popular topics in the world of blogging.

And luckily for us ladies, there is no shortage of bloggers to choose from to get your daily dosage of  style, beauty and hair.

However, this next Brown Girl Blogger brings a nice spin on the reporting

of fashion and beauty, by adding some life experiences in the mix as well.

Here to serve us with fun, fashion and fierceness,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

                                                                 Miss Coco Gawdess, Delfine. TheCocoGawdessSign

 

Please introduce yourself to the readers:

My name is Delfine, but on the blog I go by The Coco Gawdess or sometimes Coco. I’m a city girl, born and raised in Queens, New York.

Tell us about your blog, The Coco Gawdess.

My blog, The Coco Gawdess, is a personal style blog. It was created to be a movement in celebration of beauty as a platform; where through fashion, beauty and life experiences, women could share in the reverence of womanhood. The link is www.thecocogawdess.com.

TheCocoGawdessBlog

Why did you begin blogging?

To be quite honest, The Coco Gawdess isn’t my first blog. It’s more like my 6th or 7th. I have always loved writing, so much that one of my majors in college was Journalism. Blogging allowed me to write in a space where I had complete control over my work. I had total sovereignty over how much time I spent on the blog, what I wrote about and the design. It was a writer’s heaven.

I started The Coco Gawdess to fulfill my own needs, needs I believed other girls shared. There wasn’t anyone who looked, spoke, dressed or wrote like me. I have always been told that I have great style and that I’m a great public speaker and writer, but I wanted my blog to be so much more than a feed of pictures of myself in impractical clothing in unrealistic places or situations. I wanted The Coco Gawdess to be a resource for all girls, but especially those of a darker complexion– “chocolate girls.” I wanted to create a place where real women could get ideas about fashion and life, regardless of socioeconomic status, age, weight, skin color, etc. A place where sexy is redefined. A place where intellect and fashion meet in the form of self-love. So much of the way we dress, walk and talk has to do with the way we feel about ourselves. We can’t change the skin color, height or size that we were born, but we can package ourselves the way we want. As women, we are sexy, sweet, bitter in our rawest form, strong, deep, we’re an aphrodisiac, we come in different flavors and colors….we are chocolate. We are all made of chocolate, that’s what connects us. Who we are and what we look like starts on the inside and manifests on the outside. It’s about feeling and looking good, and sharing that love the way chocolate is meant to be shared. Look good, feel good; feel good, look better– that’s what The Coco Gawdess is about.

What motivates you to dedicate time to blogging?

The response I get is one of my biggest motivators. Whether it’s on the blog, on my Youtube channel, or on Instagram, the response of girls (and women!) that identify with my sense of style, sense of humor, background or interests is beyond rewarding. Another motivator is the release. Blogging is freeing, therapeutic almost. It’s completely separate from my career and from my day-to-day life. It also allows me to express my creative side and challenges me to come up with new ideas, new strategies and to learn new software and new programs.

TheCocoGawdessYoutubeChannel

In one year, what do you hope manifests from your blogging?

I have big plans for The Coco Gawdess for the next 12 months. In a nutshell, I hope to turn The Coco Gawdess into exactly what it was meant to be…a movement. I hope every girl who reads a blog post, sees an Instagram picture or caption or watches a Youtube video feels like she is made of Godiva. I want every girl to recognize the Coco Gawdess in her.

Name two of your favorite bloggers you follow.

Claire Sumners of FashionBombDaily and Shiona Turini (more of a journalist than a blogger) are two of my favorites right now. I love the way Claire has climbed to the top, is a resource for so many fashionistas and highlights a new Fashion Bomb every so often. I absolutely love the way Shiona Turini knows and loves who she is and where she comes from. Now THAT’S a Coco Gawdess.

What legacy do you want to leave behind for others to know about you?TheCocoGawdessBlogHeader

I can only hope that others see the chocolate in me. Not the obvious deep brown of my physical, but the sweet, richness of my soul. That sounds dramatic, but I want to leave behind a legacy of looking good on the inside and out. I want to be known as someone who helped other women and girls achieve that as well.

 

Be sure to stay up to date with all the chocolate goodness of Coco through social media:

Twitter: @TheCocoGawdess
Instagram: @CocoGawdess
Youtube: The Coco Gawdess
Leave a Reply

