Go Getter Edition: From Swishahouse to Silicon Valley Why Chamillionaire Made the Switch

1430166372chamillionaire_peter_holslinI would love to think by now I no longer have to give a premise to my publishing, so forgive me if you are looking for one.

 The energy is high and once you see Go Getter Edition, you know it is time to Get It!

While reading some articles on my FB page, I came across one entitled:

Chamillionaire Wants to Be a Chabillionaire

Now at first I was like, “yeah right” but then I got to thinking, why not check out his mindset, I mean he isn’t talking about something crazy, to want more, so why not take a click to hear him out.

And I am so glad I did.

Apparently the 35-year-old Houston Rapper turned Entrepreneur in Residence “EIR”, Hakeem Seriki, has found his path from rich to wealth with the investment partnership of, Upfront Ventures, an investment firm located in Santa Monica, CA.

Of his days being in the music industry he states,

“I walked around the music industry for a bunch of years, right? I saw a lot of rich people. I didn’t see wealthy,” he tells me. “I got into the tech industry, I see wealthy every day. The Snapchat CEO is 24 years old and a billionaire. How many billionaires do I have to walk around the music industry to find? I’m in Silicon Valley, I’m in L.A., I’m in Santa Monica, and I’m seeing billionaires all over the place. And they’re young. That’s not in the music industry.”

In his new role as EIR, Chamillionaire gets to set his own schedule and surround himself with an investment team and learn about obtaining capital. He is free to come and go as he pleases and is constantly surrounded by individuals who are all looking to gain capital as well. They are from all walks of life, each seeking the opportunity to win.

 Though he declines to name who’s been coming in, Cham says visitors include scientists, Ivy League graduates, people who have brilliant ideas and “people who are just winging it.” Essentially it’s a grab bag of people touting projects Upfront might be interested in getting a piece of—something that could prove to be a total flop, or could just as well end up as the next Uber or Snapchat.

“There are people that are doing things that I would’ve never even thought possible,” says Cham, who’s giving his first interview about the EIR since it was announced in February. “To be in the midst of that is just amazing to me. Coming up as a rap artist, man, I come from a world where people couldn’t just walk into a room and just get all this money. You had to be a rapper or a basketball player and you had to be exceptionally great at that.”

When I tell you that you can find motivation anywhere at any time…..I have been experiencing a rapid stream of opportunity and it is no coincidence that it is coming on the tail end of my frustrations. I hate complaining about the same things and when I hear that happening, I know I am not doing my part to make the situation better for me and those around me; whether we admit to it or not, our attitude does affect how others view and treat us. So while it is okay to vent, it is not okay to be negative.

Remember, it is not a coincidence when goals begin to be accomplished in your life, it is the action of Going After what you want that accomplishes goals.

Nothing comes to a wisher but a wish.

Set Up Shop. Go Get It.

4 comments

  1. “Nothing comes to a wisher but a wish.” That speaks so much volume! I really enjoyed reading this and couldn’t help agree with what he said about the music industry; although, I am not my rapper myself. But he’s right. How many rappers are just doing what the next rapper is doing and claiming they “got” or “getting to the money”? Your motivational posts give me a little push. Happy Sunday 🙂

    1. Thank you novelbeauti! I thought his story to be such a motivational piece for me. Lol loved it so much I had to write about it. Thanks for reading! Peace

Leave a Reply

