Flyy Girl Feature Friday: Alyxandra Goodwin

Good Flyy Girl Feature Friday everyone!

Today’s featured Brown Blogger could not possibly arrive at a better time.

Here in America, Black People face a great deal of social injustices, the very means to sustainable life is threaten on every level,

in some form some where within these United States.

I personally struggle with saying too much or not saying too much consistently…

So, I am thankful for writers like our next Brown Blogger who serves a constant stream of thoughts of

what is happening with our communities from the inside-out.

We deserve a chance to define ourselves,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

                                                                           Miss Alyxandra GoodwinAGface

Please introduce yourself to the readers:

Alyx Goodwin (writing as AG), Southern California

Tell us about your blog, Mixd Signals:

My blog is a space that discusses identity in the Black community, both perceived and projected. My big vision is that I can provide a platform for the Black community to tell their own stories as it is absolutely time to reclaim and rewrite our narrative, while trying to figure out my own as a biracial woman from the ‘burbs. link –> www.mixdsignals.wordpress.com

Why did you begin blogging?

I’ve kept diaries since I was young, as early as like 5th grade (!!!) and growing up I literally enjoyed being assigned essays in school especially in my AP classes I always made a point to pick a topic that challenged me and that I would learn more about while doing the assignment and I never thought anything of those things I always thought I was just quirky like that. Through a bunch of major switching in college I found journalism around the same time I was dabbling in student activism and I found that writing was a great way for me to marry the two.

mixdsignalsblog1

I was taught in my major dept. that digital media was the wave and in a few of my classes we were required to have one. I tried blogging once before outside of class and failed miserably and now that I’ve graduated and matured I recognize that this is a space where I feel really at home and that I can build a brand and a platform to help spread a positive message about my community as my form of activism.

What motivates you to dedicate time to blogging?

Now that I fully understand the purpose of my blog I think I would go crazy if I wasn’t doing it, it all feels so necessary to my spirit–as corny as that might sound–because I recognize its potential and what it could be.

In one year, what do you hope manifests from your blogging?

Within a year I hope that my personal brand and blog become something that Black college students, at least in California, can identify and engage with.

Name two of your favorite bloggers you follow?

I’m fairly new to the game but Tyece author of Twenties Unscripted because…REAL. Her words inspire me to think about myself during all of this because when you blog sometimes you don’t like to admit that this shit is about you but sometimes you need to. Also, Regina Anaejionu of byregina.com and Melissa Kimble of My Creative Connection — both of these ladies, in my eyes, have created their own lanes and are doing it well and I just soak up all of their content. Sorry I couldn’t choose just two!

What legacy do you want to leave behind for others to know about you?

That I was helpful and thoughtful during my time here. I think one of my main purposes in this lifetime is to provide space and opportunities for young people of color to excel and propel themselves forward.

mixdsignalsblog2

Upcoming events or projects?

I’m currently participating in #infobomo, a challenge to write a book in a month. I’m writing about how when youth of color find their passions and are active in being socially conscious this is a form of activism they can use to help their community. By the end of this month (May) my draft will be done so I’m looking to release it in June!

Be sure to keep up with all things Alyx and Mixd Signals via social media:

Twitter: @AGtheGiant

I hope you will take a moment to click the link and get a closer read for yourself at what AG is sharing with the community and the world.

Make a Plan.

Take Action.

Set Up Shop.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

